Excellence and Education NetworkWednesday, 22-May-2024, 10:20 PM

Welcome Guest | RSS

Main | Federal Ministery of Education | Registration | Login
Site menu

Tag Board


Total online: 2
Guests: 2
Users: 0

Login form

The Federal Ministry of Education

The Federal Ministry of Education (www.fme.gov.ng) has been vested with the overall responsibility for laying down national policies and guidelines for uniform standards for all levels of education in Nigeria as enshrined in various statutory instruments, notably the National Policy on Education, the Education Decree No. 16 of 1985 and the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. By the role entrusted to it, the Federal Ministry of Education is responsible for:

1. Formulating a national policy on education.
2. Collecting and collating data for purposes of educational planning and financing.
3. Maintaining uniform standards of education throughout the country.
4. Controlling the quality of education in the country through the supervisory role of the Inspectorate Services Department within the Ministry.
5. Controlling the quality of education in the country through the supervisory role of the Inspectorate Services Department within the Ministry.
6. Harmonizing educational policies and procedures of all the states of the federation through the instrumentality of the National Council on Education.
7. Effecting co-operation in educational matters on an international scale.
8. Developing curricula and syllabuses at the national level in conjunction with other bodies.

The Federal Ministry of Education parastatals include the following:

1. National Universities Commission (NUC), Abuja.
2. National Board for Technical Education (NBTE), Kaduna.
3. National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Abuja.
4. Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), Abuja.
5. Controlling National Commission for Nomadic Education, (NCNE), Abuja
6. National Commission for Adult Education Mass Literacy and Non Formal Education (NMEC), Abuja
7. Nigerian Educational Research Development Council (NERDC), Sheda,FCT.
8. Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Bwari, Abuja.
9. West African Examination Council (WAEC), Lagos.
10. National Examination Council (NECO), Minna, State.
11. National Business and Technical Examination Board (NABTEB).
12. National Institute for Educational Planning & Administration (NIEPA),Ondo.
13. National Teachers Institute (NTI), Kaduna.
14. Nigerian Mathematical Centre (NMC), Sheda, FCT.
15. Nigerian French Language Village (NFLV)Badagry, Lagos.
16. Nigerian Arabic Language Village (NALV) Ngala, Borno.
17. National Institute for Nigerian Languages (NINLAN) Aba , Abia.
18. Education Trust Fund (ETF), Abuja.
19. National Library of (NLN), Abuja.
20. Teachers’ Registration Council of (TRCN), Abuja.
21. Computer Professionals Registration Council of (CPN), Lagos.

The ministry has and focuses on the following 6 spheres of education:

1. Basic Education
2. Secondary Education
3. Adult and Formal Education
4. Tertiary
5. Early Childhood
6. Special Needs.

Contact Details of the Federal Ministry of Education - FME

Federal Ministry of Education
Federal Secretariat
Central Business District
Email: inquiries@fme.gov.ng
Website: www.fme.gov.ng


«  May 2024  »

Entries archive

Site friends
  • Create a free website
  • Online Desktop
  • Free Online Games
  • Video Tutorials
  • All HTML Tags
  • Browser Kits

  • Copyright Excellence and Education Network © 2024
    Powered by uCoz