Excellence and Education NetworkThursday, 25-April-2024, 11:06 AM

Welcome Guest | RSS

Main | Legends in Nigerian Education | Registration | Login
Site menu

Tag Board


Total online: 1
Guests: 1
Users: 0

Login form


This is the where we present those that have contributed outstandingly to education and to educational advancement of Nigeria.


Chief Obafemi Awolowo - Father of Free Education Policy, Free Education, Construction of many primary and secondary schools, building the University of Ife now Obafemi Awolowo University and many other institutions. Founder and Publisher of Nigerian Tribune

Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe - Founder and Publisher of West African Pilot, Establishment of the University of Nigeria Nsukka, building and expansion of primary and secondary schools, Author and Educationist.

Sir Ahmadu Bello - Education in the North, Establishment of Ahmadu Bello University.

General Ibrahim Babangida - Establishment of the Universities of Technology.

General Sanni Abacha
- The Universities of Agriculture

Dr. Sam Mbakwe - Established the first State owned university in Nigeria

Alhaji Lateef Jakande - Free Education, stoppage of afternoon sessions in Lagos State schools, construction of more schools in Lagos
State, Establishment of the Lagos State University.

Professor Ambrose Alli - Free education and the Bendel State University now Ambrose Ali university.


Dr. Alvan Ikoku - Outstanding educationist, Teacher, Established Aggrey Memorial Collegel, Minster of Education, Served on various educational bodies, forstered the interest of NUT, worked for uniform education system in the country.

Professor Tai Solarin - Educationist, administrator and author. Proprietor and principal of Mayflower School.

Henry Carr Administrator and educationist.

David Adamu Baike - Teacher, Administrator and educationists. Former VC Uniben, former VC University of Maseru, Lesotho.

Samuel Tunde Bajah - Teacher, educationist and author.

Kenneth Dike - Educationist, Teacher, outstanding university Administrator. Founded the historical society of Nigeria

Prof. Eni Njoku - Educationist, Administrator. First VC of the University of Lagos, VC of UNN. Served on the boards of the Commonwealth Scientific Committee, the United Nations Advisory Committee on the Application of Science and Technology as well as the UNESCO Advisory Committee in Natural Sciences. He also served in the councils of the Universities of Zambia and Zaire (Democratic Republic of Congo). He wrote several books and articles in international journals. He received the honorary D.Sc. degree from the University of Nigeria in 1964, and in 1966 Michigan State University conferred on him an honorary doctor of laws degree and in 1973 Unilag awarded its first vice-chancellor an honorary D.Sc. degree.

Professor Babs Fafunwa - First Nigerian professor of Education, Former minister of Education, Educational reformer and crusader, Teacher and Teacher of Teachers, Educational Administrator, Establishment of the Education Bank, the Nigerian Academy of Education, National Institute for Educational planning and Administration, Author and trail blazer.

Professor Grace Alele-Williams First female Vice-Chancelor of a University in Nigeria. Teacher and educationist. Served on several educational boards and councils including UNESCO Institute of Education.

Denis Slattery - Teacher, Administrator and Educationist. Founded St. Finbar’s College, Lagos.

Ondo State Community - Education of the child, highest number of educated elites in the country, highest number of professors in the country.

Nnanna Ukaegbu - Educationist and Founder of the defunct Tedem University.


Rev. Father Emmanuel Ede - First private polytechnic in the country (OSISATECH), proprietor of first private university in Nigeria, Madonna University, educational philanthropist.

Caleb - Proprietor Caleb group of schools and Caleb University

Proprietor Chrisland group of schools and Chrisland

HRH Oba Olashore - Educationist, Proprietor of Olashore International Schools.

Chief Olusegun Obasanjo - Bells International School and Bells University of Technology

HRH, Oba Adekunle Aromolaran
Author of several academic textbooks, Founder of Aromolaran Press, educationist.

Chief Gabriel Igbinedion - Igbinedion Schools, Igbinedion Educational Center, Igbinedion University – first private University in the country.

Chief Afe Babalola (SAN) - Philanthropist, Proprietor Afe Babalola University

Ilesamni Press - Foremost Nigerian publisher of primary and secondary school textbooks in the sixties, seventies and eighties. Lighted up the pathway to educational publishing in the country.

Onibonoje Publishers

The Catholic Church - Various primary and secondary schools in the country dating back to the colonial days, seminaries and 3 Universities.

The Redeem Church
- Redeemers Group of Schools and Redeemers University

The Methodist Church - Various primary and secondary schools in the country dating back to the colonial days and a University.

The Anglican Church - Various primary and secondary schools in the country dating back to the colonial days and a University.

The Ansarudeen Society
- Various primary and secondary schools in the country dating back to the colonial days

Chief M. K. O. Abiola - Philanthropist, aid and grants to Universities; Abiola International School, Abiola Bookshops, Concord Press and Concord Newspaper. Also the first publisher to publish newspapers in three Nigerian languages (Yoruba, Ibo and Hausa)

The MTN Foundation - Philanthropy, aid, grants, classroom blocks, Endowments and ICT in institutions.

The UBA Foundation
- Philanthropy, aid, grants, classroom blocks, endowments and ICT in institutions.

Chief Gani Fawehinmi - Doyen of Legal reporting in Nigeria, Founder of Nigerian law reports, philanthropists and student scholarships.

Chief Rochas Okorocha - Philanthropist, scholarship to students

Microsoft - Grants, digitalization of educational Institutions, ICT.

Zinox Computers - Donation and Integration of ICT in schools

Cadbury Nigeria Plc/Bournvita
- Promotion of Educational Excellence. Teacher awards and competitions for students -

send feedback to info.exced@gmail.com

«  April 2024  »

Entries archive

Site friends
  • Create a free website
  • Online Desktop
  • Free Online Games
  • Video Tutorials
  • All HTML Tags
  • Browser Kits

  • Copyright Excellence and Education Network © 2024
    Powered by uCoz